Apply for Subcommittee Membership Home    Topics    Downloads    Your Account    Submit News    Top 10  


Subcommittee members must log in to access their subcommitttee information. Click here to apply for subcommittee membership.

Main Menu
ASC Z136 Procedures
ASC Z136 Conventions
ASC Z136 Member Roster
Committee Chairs
Members Listing
Standards Listing
Discussion Forums
Errata - Special Sections
Z136 Interpretations
Submit News
Web Links

Standards Subcommittees
ASC Z136 - General
SSC-1 Safe Use of Lasers
SSC-2 Telecommunications
SSC-3 Health Care
SSC-4 Measurement
SSC-5 Education Facilities
SSC-6 Outdoor Lasers
SSC-7 Eye Protection & Barriers
SSC-8 R&D and Testing
SSC-9 Manufacturing
SSC-10 Entertainment, Displays & Exhibitions

Technical Subcommittees
TSC-1 Bio-Effects & Med. Surv
TSC-2 Hazard Evaluation
TSC-4 Control Measures & Training
TSC-5 Non-Beam Hazards
TSC-7 Analysis & Applications
EWG-Editorial Working Group
GDG-Graphics Design Group
TST-Web Site Testing
LIP-Laser Projectors
ATP-Anti-Trust Policy Group
RPT-Accident, Incident Reporting
BLS Board of Laser Safety
SCE Standards Consolidation Evaluation Sub-Group

Other Links
Top 10

Who's Online
There are currently, 1 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here

Safe Use of Lasers


Please login to access committee information and status or you may apply for a committee. Thank you.

Committee Chair: Sheldon Zimmerman

Committee Vice-Chair: Ben Rockwell

Committee Secretary: Jeffrey Pfoutz

Committee Scope

Develop a standard that provides guidance for the safe use of lasers and laser systems by defining laser hazard classes, control measures, requirements for a laser safety program, discussion of medical surveillance, defining important considerations of non-beam hazards. Some technical information on measurements, calculations and biological effects is provided within the standard and its appendices.


 SSC-1 Z136.1 Standard Subcommittee Meeting Announcement
Contributed by benlaser
Posted by benlaser on Sunday, May 19, 2002 @ 09:05:22 MDT
Topic: Z136.1 Standard Subcommittee (No Comments)

 Z136.1 Standard Subcommittee Meeting Announcement
Contributed by benlaser
Posted by benlaser on Wednesday, July 18, 2001 @ 12:57:06 MDT
Topic: Z136.1 Standard Subcommittee (No Comments)



Date Posted
(Click to Download)
Document Description
26 February 2010
SSC-1 Meeting Agenda for San Jose (pdf)
Meeting agenda for the ANSI Z136 SSC-1 subcommittee. To be held at the Hilton DoubleTree Hotel, San Jose, California, on March 11, 2010, 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM.


Lorrie Agnew
Robert Aldrich
Scott Benjamin
Jerry Bogert
David Bothner
William Burgess
Ritchie Buschow
Matthew Carey
Joanna Casson
Ricky Chitwood
C.D. Clark III
Jerry Cook
Darvis Cosper
Michael Denton
Ben Edwards
Robert Ehrlich
William Ertle
Robert Fairchild
Katharine Fayram
Richard Felten
Annette Frederiksen
Penelope Galoff
Kurt Geber
Troy Gonyon
Paul Green
Joshua Hadler
Donald Haes
Matthew Harrison
Kerry Hoeppner
Jennifer Hunter
Tony Imm
Robert Kang
Edward Kelly
Ami Kestenbaum
Jamie King
Ling Liu
Eric Logean
Brian Lund
David Lund
Damien Luviano
Wesley Marshall
Roberta McHatton
Leon McLin
Tim Mikulski
Wallace Mitchell
Patrick Murphy
Neal Nakafuji
John O'Hagan
Jeffrey Oliver
Patti Owens
William Pate
Timothy Payne
Dale Payne
Jeffrey Pfoutz
Ben Rockwell
Bret Rogers
Leorrorne Roque
Denny Rossbach
Karl Schulmeister
Dan Seaman
Brianne Shankle
Richard Shea
David Sliney
Penny Smalley
Paul Sorensen
Shawn Sparks
Keith Spaulding
Gary Spichiger
Bruce Stuck
paul szajowski
Paul Testagrossa
Robert Thomas
Carol Tomczyk
Greta Toncheva
Stephen Wengraitis
Trevor Wheatley
Wendy Woehr Terrenoire
Michael Woods
Susan Yeung
Michael Zimmer
Sheldon Zimmerman


Maintained by